RSS Feed

Drawing or Writing on Ceramic

20130901-194712.jpg
Just a quick post today. I made the coffee mugs above to give to my brother Jim and sister-in-law Lisa who had moved from Massachusetts to Tennessee. I got the idea from Pinterest (of course). The directions said to use a Sharpie, then bake it in the oven to make it permanent. I made them the day before they were scheduled to go back to Chattanooga and was so disappointed to find out that the process didn’t work. When I wet my thumb and ran it over a corner of the writing, the ink ran and washed off. I was NOT happy.

I did a little research and found out that I needed to get paint pens made specifically for writing on glass. These ones by DecoArt work really really well.

20130901-195925.jpg
I got mine at Michael’s but I’m pretty certain that you’ll find them at all major craft stores. The pens have actual paint in them, so you need to shake them up first, then push down the tip until the paint flows into it. Then you’re ready to write or draw with it.

To create the shapes I went here and printed out the two states I was looking for. Then, using a water solvable felt tip pen I drew the shapes by eyeballing them. I would “erase” as I went along by licking my thumb and wiping off the ink. Once I had it like I wanted, I painted over my lines with the DecoArt pen. Anyone uncomfortable with my “eyeballing” technique could print or copy the shapes to desired size then cut them out, tape them on, and trace the shape onto your mug.

Following the instructions on the pen package, I put the completed mugs onto a cookie sheet and put them into a cold oven. I turned the oven on, setting it to 375 degrees. Once the oven was preheated (it hit 375 degrees), I set the timer to 40 minutes. When the timer went off, I turned the oven off and opened the oven door a few inches. When the mugs reached room temperature, they were done! I packaged them up and shipped them out to Jim and Lisa the next day.

Today, I made two of these mugs, one for me and one for my girlfriend Wendy. I am famous among my family members for being incapable of any clear thinking until I’ve finished my first cup of coffee in the morning. Wendy is almost, but not quite as bad.

20130901-204222.jpg
Now that I’ve gotten the hang of the pens, I’m really looking forward to using them on different projects in the future. I’m thinking about using them for some sort of teacher gift at Christmastime.

Everybody enjoy your Labor Day!

About lauraerickson2001

I'm a stay at home mom with two little boys, and two little dogs. I spend my spare time working on crafty projects that run the gambit from cookie decorating to furniture refinishing (to blogging!).

Leave a Reply

