RSS Feed

Hemming Jeans

Just a quick note to show a technique that I’ve never used before, but makes a huge difference when hemming jeans.

In the past, I’ve hemmed jeans in the usual, fold under then sew around the cuff method that I use with all the kids’ pants since forever.  With jeans, this left them without their signature cuff that give jeans their “look”. I couldn’t put a finger on why the kids’ hemmed jeans looked so extraordinarily dorky until I found this method that let’s you hem the jeans, but keep the cuff. It’s so simple that I had one of those “why didn’t I think of that” moments.

It’s a little hard for me to explain, so I’m hoping the photos help out.
imageWhat I did was I tucked a hem up and into the pant leg then brought the bottom fold down to just above the jeans’ original hem and accent stitching.  I then top stitched the hem in place, using matching (denim colored) thread, just above the fold. Yeah, like I said, hard to explain so look here and see what I’m talking about…
image

See how the extra fabric (the stuff that makes the pants too long) makes a “cuff” on the inside of the pant leg then is tacked down at the bottom? If you’re a full grown person, you could then cut this extra fabric off, but I leave it so that I can re-lengthen the legs as needed.
imageSee the dark blue stitching just above the gold?  That’s mine.  I should also tell you that when I got to the side seams, I stopped sewing, skipped over them, and continued sewing on the other side of the seam.  I did this because I don’t have the right foot or needle to sew through all that denim.  Since the cuff lays flat and the opening faces the floor, it really isn’t noticeable unless you stick your finger into the opening like so…

image

 

If you do have the right equipment for the task, by all means sew straight across that sucker.  Here is the completed job.  Or one of them anyway.  I went school shopping and got 8 pairs of jeans for my two boys and had to hem ALL of them.

imageThat’s it for now and Happy Hemming!

 

About lauraerickson2001

I'm a stay at home mom with two little boys, and two little dogs. I spend my spare time working on crafty projects that run the gambit from cookie decorating to furniture refinishing (to blogging!).

One response »

  1. Pingback: A tale of two hems | Librarian for Life and Style

Leave a Reply

